Featured

Online Teachers for Children - VIPKID

The Opportunity:

The future is here! Join a fast growing community of elite educators who are teaching right from their home. As an independent contractor, you will be matched 1:1 with Chinese students on our secure virtual learning platform to teach English online.  You can make your own schedule and use VIPKID resources to instruct - no lesson planning required!

This opportunity is for you if you have a strong teaching background, are energetic, engaging, and self-motivated. If you consider yourself a global educator and are excited about the use of technology to connect the world, then this is a match. Partner with us and help change the face of online learning.

About VIPKID

We have offices in Beijing, Shanghai, and San Francisco and have over 80,000 students and 8,500 teachers on the VIPKID platform. Founded in 2013, VIPKID has won several awards including CY Zone’s Top 100 Chinese Companies, Top 21 Global Innovation Companies, and the US-China Entrepreneurship Leader Award. We have strategic partnerships with ETS, Coursera, and TESOL, and are venture backed by top investors, such as Innovation Works, Sequoia Capital, Matrix Partners, H Capital, Northern Light Venture, Yunfeng Capital, Learn Capital, and Kobe Bryant’s fund, Bryant Stibel. 

We pride ourselves on giving Chinese children the American elementary school experience.

The Work

  • 1-on-1 online full immersion English language and content classes
  • An American curriculum, based on the Common Core State Standards
  • 25-minute highly engaging lessons

Opportunity Details

Contract type: Independent contractor

Start date: Immediately

Hours: In order to maximize the number of classes scheduled, teachers are recommended to be available for at least 15 time slots per week (each time slot is 30 minutes) during Beijing peak times. The following hours tend to be the most requested time periods from our families: Monday-Sunday 6-10pm, and Saturday-Sunday 9am-10pm in Beijing time.

Here are the times converted to US times:

Peak Times: Monday - Friday; Saturday - Sunday

US Times: Beijing 6pm - 10pm; Beijing 9am – 10pm

EST: 6am - 10am; Fri-Sun 9pm – 10am

CST: 5am - 9am; Fri-Sun 8pm – 9am

MST: 4am - 8am; Fri-Sun 7pm – 8am

PST: 3am - 7am; Fri-Sun 6pm -7am

Hawaii: 1am - 5am; Fri-Sun 4pm – 5am

Payment: Our teachers are paid according to the number of classes finished. The minimum service fee rate range is US$ 14-$18/hour. There are incentives for every lesson, so a typical service fee ranges between US$ 14-22/hour. This business opportunity is ideal for independent contractor teachers looking to supplement their income.

Posted on: May 10, 2017
This is a Direct to School Job
Online,
May 2017
6 months
Licensed Teacher, College/University Faculty, University Graduate, ESL Instructor, Vocational/Technical Instructor
Undergraduate
USD 1500
1000

Qualifications & Requirements

Bachelor
1 Year
  • Exposure to the American or Canadian K-12 education system
  • Bachelor’s degree
  • Tech Requirements: Desktop or Laptop with a fast internet connection and audio/video capability