How to determine peak online English teaching times in your timezone ️

best hours for teaching chinese students online

Never before have timezones played such an important role in ESL teaching! Now that more and more online English teaching jobs are cropping up online, there’s a whole range of new considerations for teachers. Like - when do I want to teach? And what the heck is a peak hour? And why is everything written in Beijing time? We can’t answer all of those questions - we’re not mind readers, and everyone’s life is different. You might want to teach mornings, evenings or nights. Who knows? Certainly not us .

What we do know is that a peak hour is the times when a company sees that most students are logging on and clocking online English tutoring hours i.e. when the demand for English teachers is at its highest. These hours tend to be similar across a region and as many online ESL students are based in China - the words Beijing time, are a headache you need to pay attention to.

We recommend bookmarking this handy little guide as we’ve taken the time to translate those mysterious Beijing peak hours into time zones that will be more familiar for Canadian, American, European, South African, New Zealander and Australian teachers.

We’ve also looked at peak hours in other regions with a high demand for English teachers and done the same. So we’ve got peak hour timezone translators for student demand in Japan, Europe and South America too.

China’s peak online English teaching hours:

New call-to-action

The peak hours for many companies in China are pretty much the same. That’s because it’s mostly after schools hours.

So whether you’re looking at companies like iTutor, VipKid, Dada, Magic Ears, or any of the other bajillion companies working on Beijing time, this table should help you figure out when the peak work hours are based on your own timezone.

Time Zone

Weekdays

Weekends

Beijing GMT+8

6pm-10 pm

9am-11 am

Pacific Standard GMT -8

(Canada & USA

2am-6am

5pm-7pm (of the day before)

Mountain Standard GMT -7

(Canada & USA)

3am-7am

6pm-8pm (of the day before)

US Central Standard GMT -6

(Canada, US, Central America, Mexico)

4am-8am

7pm-9pm (of the day before)

Central European Standard GMT +1

(France, Germany, etc.)

11am-3pm

2am-4am

GMT

(UK/Ireland)

10am-2pm

1am-3am

South Africa GMT +2

12pm- 4pm (midday)

3am-5am

New Zealand GMT +13

11pm-3am

2pm-4pm

Australian Central GMT +9

(including Japan and South Korea)

7pm-11pm

10am-12pm (midday)

Teach Away logo

Sign up to Teach Away today for access to the latest
teaching jobs around the world.

 

Japan’s peak online English teaching hours:

Companies like Gaba, Native Camp, and Best Teacher, all cater to Japanese students.

Whether you fancy teaching adults or children, the demand for online ESL tutors in Japan is outside of their traditional working/school hours. This means early mornings, late evenings and weekends are when most Japanese English students will log on to boost their English learning.

Time Zone

Weekdays

Weekends

Japan GMT+9

(Australia & South Korea)

7.10am-9.10am

5.30pm-10.30pm

All day on the weekends

9am-9pm

Pacific Standard GMT -8

(Canada & USA)

2.10pm-4.10pm (day before)

Midnight-5am (same day)

4pm-4am (Fri, Sat)

Mountain Standard GMT -7

(Canada & USA)

3.10pm-5.10pm (day before)

1am-am (same day)

5pm-5am (Fri, Sat)

US Central Standard GMT -6

(Canada, US, Central America, Mexico)

4.10pm-6.10pm (day before

2am-7am (same day)

6pm-6am (Fri, Sat)

Central European Standard GMT +1

(France, Germany, etc.)

11pm-1am

9.30am-2.30pm

1am-1pm

GMT

(UK/Ireland)

10pm-12am (midnight)

8.30am-1.30pm

12pm-12am

(midday to midnight)

South Africa GMT +2

12am-2am (midnight)

10.30am-3.30pm

2am-2pm

New Zealand GMT +13

11.10am-13.10am

9.30pm-2.30am

1pm-1am

Beijing Time GMT +8

6.10am-8.10am

4.30pm-9.30pm

8am-8pm

Europe’s peak online English teaching hours:

It’s a bit of a theme with online tutoring companies but they tend to have their peak hours on the weekends or weekdays outside of working hours. That means that if you’re planning to teach European students ESL online, you might want to log on on weekday evenings or anytime over the weekend.

Some of the companies that cater to European students are Fluentify, Learnship and Tandem.

Time Zone

Weekdays

Weekends

Central European Standard GMT +1 (France, Germany, etc.)

6pm-9pm

9am-9pm

Pacific Standard GMT -8

(Canada & USA)

9am-12pm (midday)

12pm-12am (midday-midnight)

Mountain Standard GMT -7

(Canada & USA)

10am-1pm

1pm-1am

US Central Standard GMT -6

(Canada, US, Central America, Mexico)

11am-2pm

2pm-2am

Japan GMT+9 (Australia & South Korea)

2am-5am (next day)

5pm-5am

GMT

(UK/Ireland)

5pm-8pm

8am-8pm

South Africa GMT +2

7pm-10pm

10am-10pm

New Zealand GMT +13

6am-9am (next day)

9pm-9am

Beijing Time GMT +8

1am-4am (next day)

4pm-4am

South America’s peak online English teaching hours:

Although the market isn’t as saturated as say, China, there is a growing demand for online English teachers in Latin America. LatinHire, Preply and Cambly all cater to this market, but not always exclusively. The best thing you can do is log on during peak hours for that region if you’re set on teaching South American students.

Time Zone

Weekdays

Weekends

South America (GMT-2)

6pm-9pm

9am-9pm

Central European Standard GMT +1 (France, Germany, etc.)

9pm-12am (midnight)

12pm-12am (midday-midnight)

Pacific Standard GMT -8

(Canada & USA)

12pm-3pm (midday)

3am-3pm

Mountain Standard GMT -7

(Canada & USA)

1pm-4pm

2am-2pm

US Central Standard GMT -6

(Canada, US, Central America, Mexico)

2pm-5pm

1am-1pm

Japan GMT+9(Australia & South Korea)

5am-8am (next day)

8pm-8am (next day)

GMT

(UK/Ireland)

8pm-11pm

11pm-11am

South Africa GMT +2

10pm-1am

1pm-1am

New Zealand GMT +13

12am-3pm (next day)

3am-3pm (next day)

Beijing Time GMT +8

4am-7am (next day)

7pm-7am (next day)

South Korea’s peak online English teaching hours:

Want to teach some of the hardest working students on the planet? Look no further than South Korea. This country places a huge emphasis on Native English teachers and has expanded its programs to include online English teachers that can cater to students in rural areas and beyond!

South Koreans study hard, so you can expect some diligent students if you go with one of these online ESL teaching companies: NIL English, English Hunt and English Aloud.

Time Zone

Weekdays

Weekends

Korea GMT+9(Australia & Japan)

6am-9am

6pm-12am (midnight)

9am-9pm

Central European Standard GMT +1 (France, Germany, etc.)

10pm-1am

10am-4pm

1am-1pm

Pacific Standard GMT -8

(Canada & USA)

1pm-4pm (day before)

1am- 7am

4pm-4am

Mountain Standard GMT -7

(Canada & USA)

2pm-5pm (day before)

2am-8am

5pm-5am

US Central Standard GMT -6

(Canada, US, Central America, Mexico)

3pm-6pm (day before)

3am-9am

6pm-6am

GMT

(UK/Ireland)

9pm-12am (midnight) (day before)

9am-3pm

12pm-12am (midday-midnight)

South Africa GMT +2

11pm-2am

10am-10pm

New Zealand GMT +13

10am-1pm

10pm-4am

1pm-1am

Beijing Time GMT +8

5am-10am

5pm-11pm

8am-8pm

If you’re still curious about teaching English online, we recommend the following reads:

 

teaching jobs abroad